Custom Search

July 16, 2013


[NEF Press Release]

Biddeford, Maine (July 16, 2013) – New England Fights! (NEF) today announced the fight card for its next scheduled mixed-martial arts (MMA) event.  Just three weeks after putting some 4,000 fans in Darling's Waterfront Pavilion in Bangor, NEF will make its long-awaited return to Biddeford at the Biddeford Arena on August 3.  In April 2012, NEF made its Biddeford Arena debut with a 1600-person sell-out, turning an additional 500 away at the door.

On August 3, Biddeford fans will be treated to a main event featuring top-ranked amateur middleweights Buck "Knuckles" Pineau (6-2) and Isaiah Queen (2-1).  Currently ranked number-one and number-four respectively in New England, Pineau and Queen are both coming off recent victories over Allan Josselyn (3-3), the sixth-ranked middleweight amateur in the northeast.  Pineau, out of nearby Portland, Maine, looks to take his fifth win in his last six bouts, while Rollinsford, New Hampshire's Queen looks to play the role of spoiler on the road.  In the co-main event, The Academy's Maria Rios (3-0) will go toe-to-toe with Valerie Aspaas (4-0) of New York's Victory MMA in a battle of undefeated female flyweights.

The full fight card for August 3 in Biddeford (subject to change):

185 Buck Pineau 6-2 (Choi's) vs Isaiah Queen 2-1 (Team Anubis)
 125 Maria Rios 3-0 (AMMA) vs Valerie Aspaas 4-0 (Victory MMA)
 145 Nate Charles 1-4 (Balanced Ground) vs Matt Denning 1-2 (CMBJJ)
 145 Alex Clark 1-0 (CMBJJ) vs Mitch Dicenzo 0-0 (Frosty’s First Class)
 140 Fred Lear 0-0 (Young's MMA) vs Joshua Tucker 0-0 (Independent)
 135 Elias Leland 2-1 (AMMA) vs Cody Sargent 1-3 (Balanced Ground)
 265 Kevin Smith 1-1 (Young's MMA) vs Josh Parr 0-0 (Independent)
 205 John Gardner 0-0 (Frosty's First Class) vs Jeremy Stevens 0-0 (Sipayik Boxing Club)
 170 Rob Higgins 0-0 (CMBJJ) vs Nash Roy 0-0 (Young's MMA)
 135 Trevor Hebert 1-1 (Frosty's First Class) vs Austyn Lizotte 0-3 (Canadian Cobras)
 125 Dustin Venoit 0-0 (CMBJJ) vs Norman Fox 0-0 (MMA Athletix)
 135 Nick Spencer 3-3 (Choi's) vs Scott McGregor 3-1 (Victory MMA)
 155 Dominic Cafone 3-1 (Balanced Ground MMA) vs TBD
 185 Mike Vangelist 0-0 (AMMA) vs TBD
 150 Mike Peitersen 0-0 vs TBD
 170 CJ Ewer 0-0 (Young's MMA) vs TBD